A very humble beginning…

Hello Blog Readers!

This is undeniably the beginning of many firsts for me. In the past whenever asked “Do you blog?” or “Are you on twitter?” my response has inevitably been “I cook…?” Well here I am blogging, and please follow me on twitter @CLchuckwagon. Hahaha!

Why the sudden change of heart? In my 10 years cooking, I did manage to get a pretty neat cook book published, “Gourmet Meals in Crappy Little Kitchens”, but for the most part I’ve been content to cook great food for other folks, drink some beer and wine, and make a little money here and there. I’ve been an executive chef, a pastry chef, a catering chef, a culinary professor, and even the director of food service for the public school system. Shouldn’t I know what I want to be when I grow up by now? Why don’t I own my own restaurant? With a cookbook, shouldn’t I have a cooking show or something? I mean everyone else does. :-/

The Book

Then it hit me. I do know what I want to be when I grow up… a freakin chef!  And of COURSE I’d love to own my own business. How can I combine the very best of me into a business that would flourish and continue to open up new revenue streams, creative outlets, and help me become an all around more productive member of society?

Let’s see I’m an experienced chef who’s expertise is cooking in crappy little kitchens, a published cookbook author, a Texas girl born on a pecan orchard who had the opportunity to raise cattle and pigs growing up, and has a very strong relationship with food and where it comes from. Chef, small space, Texas, local farmers…

Playing with my food

That’s it! A food truck is the ultimate expression of a Crappy Little Kitchen! I want to embrace that purity; to not only enhance my ability to cook gourmet meals despite great odds, but to take it on the road. I’m looking to purchase a truck or a trailer (whatever I find with the most personality), “slap a sink, a stove, and refrigerator against one wall”, (for CLK historical accuracy), and christen thee The Crappy Little Chuckwagon.

Now to find a suitable wagon… more on that later. 😀

One thought on “A very humble beginning…

Leave a Reply

